Anger Management

July 6, 2007 at 4:06 pm 1 comment


I blew my top yesterday, and yes, I am ashamed about it (rightly so!) I apologized later, but that still did not make it right – it never does 😦 That was not the end of the matter – I wanted to figure out why this happened, and more importantly, how I could prevent this in the future.

I don’t know about you, but at least in my case, I am more prone to loosing it either when I am frustrated or when things aren’t going ‘my way’ (which in turn leads to frustration). Rarely, my anger rises up when I see some unfair event or circumstance occur, usually to someone else. As far as I could determine, Jesus came close to the latter in Mark 11:15-17 (and Matt 21:12) when he entered the temple area and began driving out those who were buying and selling there. He overturned the tables of the money changers and the benches of those selling doves, and would not allow anyone to carry merchandise through the temple courts. Nowhere does it say that he “lost it”, although there are times when he seems to have heaved a deep sigh that said “now why don’t these guys get it?”…. (Interestingly enough, although both Matthew and Mark place this event after the Triumphal entry into Jerusalem, Mark mentions the fact that Jesus approached a very leafy fig tree expecting to find figs and was disappointed. Read more on this in Mark 11)

Coming back to my issue…. I went back into the past to analyze previous episodes when I had “lost it” (this wasn’t the first, although I pray this is the last!) And I realized that this larger, visible breakdown of the senses began as a series of smaller events of frustration that eventually resulted in this public display of anger. I realized that warning flags had indeed popped into my head when these smaller events frustrated me, but I ignored them, and it was a slippery slope that I could not stop sliding into. I believe I could have extricated myself from this future explosion if I had just stopped to recognize these warning signs.

The writer of Hebrews warns us of this in Heb 4:12 “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart“. It was clear that the Spirit was holding up these warning signs. However, being the gentle person He is, the Spirit rarely if ever whacks us over the head with these signs. It is up to us to recognize them and stop our negative behavior.

So is this possible? In 2 Cor 10:5, Paul says thus “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” Controlling our thought life is indeed possible, and according to this verse, it lies squarely in our realm of responsibilities. I need to know that I can recognize negative thoughts and indeed stop them. Paul in fact says this in the preceding verses (2 Cor 10:3,4) “For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.” So , with His help, I should be able stop my thoughts from following my frustrations, and stop allowing these negative strongholds to be built up in my life….

I also realized that I need to go back to what I said in my previous post (“The Father seeks…”). In short, I need to humble myself, stop trusting in my own abilities and instead depend on Him to pull me through, and He can do that only when I heed His Word and allow Him to work in me. Will you pray with me that from now on, both of us are humble enough to recognize the signs and stop before we slip off the edge?

In His Service,

John Kanagaraj

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Father seeks….. Now there *is* something that we can take into the next world….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sam  |  September 10, 2007 at 9:07 am

    John…nice blog…I expected some apps dba stuff..
    I have similar issues with anger mgt….and thanks for the
    soothing writeups

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

ClusterMaps – Where are my visitors?


