Renew your youth! (and your mind)

November 30, 2011 at 10:49 pm Leave a comment


I will begin this post with this set of verses (reason follows!)

Ps 103: 1-5 Praise the LORD, my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name. Praise the LORD, my soul, and forget not all his benefits— who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

I hit a significant milestone today, and as I was mulling over this event on my way to work, I was reminded of this very appropriate assurance: that my youth is renewed, again and again every time I claim this promise. Note that it doesn’t say that I will become younger, but that my youthfulness will be renewed. In other words, I can grow older without getting older! This is also an excellent reminder to give praise, with all my inmost being, to the Lord God. Further, I was also reminded that the blessings of God that starts with the forgiveness and redemption for my soul extends into the physical realm with the blessings of health and all other attendant benefits.

While God renews our youth, we, in turn, are asked to renew our mind (no one way traffic there!) Paul urges us to be transformed through a renewal of or mind thus:

Rom 12: 1-2 Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

While God works in us for his part, we are also to do our part – check this post for more on this topic. So if you feel older today, or bemoan the fact that you are “aging”, be encouraged by this promise of renewal.

As well, this “physical” renewal comes with some responsibility: that of taking care of what has been given to you (in this case your body). And what better way to take care of your body than through eating right and exercising. (Exercise is a life long commitment by the way – it doesn’t work in jerky starts and stops)

So enjoy His renewal today, and every day! Get out there and move: At least have a walk around the block, clear and renew your mind, filling it with praise for our wonderful God.

John

Entry filed under: Family, Life, Nature of God, Nature of Man.

John 3:16 Day No more teenagers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

ClusterMaps – Where are my visitors?


